Best water parks in Orlando for families: what's open this winter
Which Orlando water parks are open from November 2026 to March 2027, what tickets and parking cost, which slides your kids can ride, and the free splash pads locals use.

From now until spring 2027, Orlando has two major water parks open: Disney’s Blizzard Beach and SeaWorld’s Aquatica Orlando. Aquatica is the pick for most families this winter, with heated water, year-round opening and the lowest online ticket price of the big parks. Universal’s Volcano Bay is the best water park in Orlando once it reopens on or before April 1, 2027, and Typhoon Lagoon has been closed for refurbishment since September 9, 2026.
Both open parks heat their pools to about 81 to 82°F, but winter air can sit in the 60s and Disney closes Blizzard Beach on cold days. If the forecast turns, an airboat ride is a good dry alternative: the date picker below is for the Orlando: Everglades Airboat Ride and Wildlife Park Ticket, rated 4.7/5 from 1,819 reviews on GetYourGuide, from $36 per person. Water park calendars change often, so check the official park calendar the week you travel.
Check Availability
Orlando water parks at a glance
- Open in late October 2026: Blizzard Beach is open and is Disney’s only water park while Typhoon Lagoon is closed for refurbishment. Aquatica Orlando is open year-round. Volcano Bay closed on October 26, 2026 and reopens “on or before April 1, 2027.” LEGOLAND Water Park closes for the season after November 1, 2026, and Island H2O’s 2026 season runs to October 31.
- Best right now and best value: Aquatica Orlando, with date-based tickets from $51.99 online against a $114.99 gate price, and gentle kids’ areas next to real thrill slides.
- Best overall when open: Universal’s Volcano Bay, for tweens, teens and thrill-seekers, from April 2027.
- Best for Disney families: Blizzard Beach now, Typhoon Lagoon once it returns (expected in spring 2027). Parking is free and coolers are allowed.
- Best for toddlers on a budget: free county splash pads first, then Aquatica’s Kata’s Kookaburra Cove.
- Best for ages 2 to 12 on a LEGO trip: LEGOLAND Florida Water Park, seasonal and sold only with a same-day theme park ticket.
- Cheapest ticket: Island H2O in Kissimmee, where the ticket page showed a $19.99 online sale against a $39.50 Any Day price. It is seasonal, roughly March to October.
- Money-savers: Disney’s 1-day water park ticket is reported at $74 per adult and $68 per child (3 to 9), or $64 and $58 on a ticket with blockout dates. The Disney Water Park Seasonal Pass is $89 plus tax and is valid through May 15, 2027, so it pays for itself on a second visit. For toddlers, the free splash fountains at Disney Springs and the county parks cost nothing.
- Wet ’n Wild? It closed permanently on December 31, 2016. The site is now Universal’s Endless Summer Resort.
Which Orlando water parks are open? Status for November 2026 to March 2027
This is the state of each park as of late October 2026.
| Park | Status | Closes / reopens |
|---|---|---|
| Aquatica Orlando (SeaWorld) | Open | Open year-round, with shorter winter hours |
| Disney’s Blizzard Beach | Open; Slush Gusher closed for refurbishment | Disney’s only open water park until Typhoon Lagoon returns. Closes on some cold days |
| Disney’s Typhoon Lagoon | Closed for seasonal refurbishment since September 9, 2026 | No official date; spring 2027 expected |
| Universal Volcano Bay | Closed since October 26, 2026 | Reopens “on or before April 1, 2027” |
| LEGOLAND Florida Water Park (Winter Haven) | Weekends only until November 1, 2026 | Closed for the season after November 1. Reopened February 14 in 2026; 2027 date not announced |
| Island H2O Water Park (Kissimmee) | 2026 season ends October 31 | 2027 season not announced (opened March 6 in 2026) |
| Adventure Island (Tampa) | Seasonal; usually closed November to February | Check the park calendar; the 2027 Fun Card is valid there |
| Wet ’n Wild Orlando | Permanently closed | Closed December 31, 2016 |
What this means for your trip: from November 2026 through March 2027, plan on Aquatica or Blizzard Beach. Easter 2027 falls on March 28, and Volcano Bay may still be closed then, because Universal’s official reopening wording is “on or before April 1.” Don’t build a spring-break plan around Volcano Bay until Universal confirms an earlier date.
Orlando water parks compared
Disney prices below are as reported by ticket guides in October 2026; Aquatica’s are from aquatica.com.
| Park | Best for | Ideal ages | 1-day price from | Parking | Thrill level | Heated? | Time needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Volcano Bay | Thrills, theming, teens | 7 to adult | About $80 (date-based; reported fall 2026) | Universal garage (paid) | ★★★★★ | Yes (80°F+) | Full day |
| Aquatica Orlando | All-ages value, winter | 2 to adult | $51.99 online (gate $114.99) | Paid (reported from $35) | ★★★★☆ | Yes (about 82°F) | 5 to 7 hrs |
| Blizzard Beach | Disney stays, big drops | 3 to adult | $64 adult / $58 child (blockout); $74 / $68 standard | Free | ★★★★☆ | Yes (about 81°F) | 4 to 6 hrs |
| Typhoon Lagoon | Wave pool, younger families | 2 to adult | Same Disney ticket | Free | ★★★☆☆ | Yes (about 81°F) | 4 to 6 hrs |
| LEGOLAND Water Park | LEGO fans 2 to 12 | 2 to 12 | Only with a same-day theme park combo | LEGOLAND parking (paid) | ★★☆☆☆ | Not confirmed | 2 to 3 hrs |
| Island H2O | Budget, Kissimmee stays | 5 to adult | $19.99 sale / $39.50 regular | $25 ($30 preferred) | ★★★☆☆ | Not stated | 3 to 6 hrs |
| Adventure Island (Tampa) | Day trip, Busch Gardens combo | 4 to adult | As low as $32.99 | Paid | ★★★★☆ | Not stated | Full day plus the drive |
The best Orlando water park for each age and budget
- Toddlers (0 to 4): free splash pads first. Then Aquatica, whose Kata’s Kookaburra Cove is one of Orlando’s most complete little-kid areas and has no height requirements. Typhoon Lagoon is good for this age when it is open.
- Ages 5 to 9: Aquatica. Its 42-inch family rafts (Ray Rush, Walhalla Wave, Omaka Rocka) mean shorter kids don’t get left behind.
- Tweens and teens: Volcano Bay from April 2027, for Ko’okiri Body Plunge’s 125-foot trapdoor drop, the Krakatau Aqua Coaster and the serpentine trapdoor slides. This winter, choose Blizzard Beach for Summit Plummet or Aquatica for Ihu’s Breakaway Falls.
- Best value: Aquatica’s date-based online tickets, or the $89 Disney Water Park Seasonal Pass if you will go twice.
- A half day: Blizzard Beach. Parking is free, coolers are allowed and the bus from Disney hotels is free, so leaving at lunch costs you nothing extra.
- Combining with a theme park: Aquatica plus SeaWorld on Aquatica’s 2-Day 2-Park ticket ($106 online), Blizzard Beach through Disney’s Water Park and Sports or Park Hopper Plus option, and Volcano Bay through a Universal multi-day ticket that includes it.
Our Orlando theme parks compared guide sets these water parks against the ten dry parks, and the Orlando theme park tickets guide covers where to buy the multi-park tickets.
Park-by-park guide
1. Universal Volcano Bay: best overall (closed October 26, 2026 to spring 2027)
Volcano Bay is Orlando’s most immersive and most thrilling water park, and it is closed from October 26, 2026 until “on or before April 1, 2027.” The park sits around Krakatau, a 200-foot volcano, and feels more like a South Pacific resort than a water park. Universal first posted a March 24, 2027 reopening. WESH 2 reported the change on October 5, 2026, and Universal’s hours page now reads “on or before April 1, 2027. Dates are subject to change” (per That Park Place), which stretches the planned closure from 149 to 157 days.
What’s changing: Universal retired the TapuTapu wristband and its virtual line system on October 1, 2025 (per That Park Place), so you now wait in physical lines. On busy days check what the paid Universal Express add-on costs. New cabanas were under construction in 2026. Universal has not detailed what else the closure includes, and any talk of a new attraction is speculation. Universal also paused sales and renewals of the 3-Park Annual Passes that include Volcano Bay.
Signature slides and heights
| Attraction | Type | Min. height | Thrill |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ko’okiri Body Plunge | 125-ft trapdoor drop, 70° | 48" | Extreme |
| Kala & Tai Nui Serpentine | Trapdoor body slides | 48" | High |
| Ohyah & Ohno Drop Slides | Drop-into-pool slides | 48" | High |
| Krakatau Aqua Coaster | 4-person water coaster | 42" (under 48" with a companion) | Moderate to high |
| Punga Racers | Racing body slides | 42" | Moderate |
| Honu ika Moana, Taniwha Tubes, TeAwa, Maku, Puihi | Family rafts and river | 42" (some 48"; check each ride) | Moderate |
| Waturi Beach | Wave pool | None (life jacket under 48") | Mild |
| Tot Tiki Reef / Runamukka Reef | Kids’ areas | None | Mild |
- Tickets: OrlandoScout found a 1-day Volcano Bay ticket at $81 before tax on almost every date from September 22 to October 25, 2026, and $86 on Saturday, September 26. Other 2026 guides quote $80 to $110 depending on the date. If you’re doing three or more Universal days, a multi-day ticket that includes Volcano Bay is the better buy.
- Extras: premium seating has ranged from about $29.99 to $139.99 or more per day (2025 pricing). Volcano Bay Nights after-hours tickets were $99 in 2026.
- Heated: yes; Universal has said the water is kept above 80°F.
- Where to buy: neither GetYourGuide nor Viator listed a standalone Volcano Bay ticket when we checked in October 2026, so buy it on universalorlando.com.
Pros: the best theming in Orlando, the scariest slides, and an excellent wave pool and lazy river. Cons: closed all winter; no more virtual queue; little shade on the slide-tower stairs; the most expensive of the water parks. Verdict: plan a spring or summer trip around it if your kids are 48 inches or taller. Skip it if you only have toddlers.
2. Aquatica Orlando: best value and best open-all-winter park
Aquatica Orlando is the best water park open this winter: heated, open year-round, the cheapest major park online, and good for every age. It is SeaWorld’s South Seas–themed park at 5800 Water Play Way, across from SeaWorld off International Drive.
Signature slides and heights (official)
| Attraction | Type | Min. height |
|---|---|---|
| Ihu’s Breakaway Falls | Trapdoor drop slides (the tallest at Aquatica) | 48" |
| Reef Plunge | Body slide through a Commerson’s dolphin habitat | 48" |
| KareKare Curl | Raft and wall | 48" |
| Ray Rush | 3 to 6 rider family raft | 42" |
| Walhalla Wave | 2 to 4 rider family raft | 42" |
| Taumata Racer | 8-lane mat racer | 42" |
| Riptide Race | Dueling slide | 42" |
| Omaka Rocka | Funnel slide | 42" |
| Tassie’s Twisters / Whanau Way | Family tube slides | Under 48" must wear a life vest |
| Roa’s Rapids | Rapid river | Life vest required under 51" |
| Big Surf Shores & Cutback Cove | Twin wave pools | None |
| Kata’s Kookaburra Cove | Toddler area | No height requirements |
Rules for little kids: anyone under 48 inches must wear a life vest and be with a supervising companion.
- Tickets (aquatica.com, October 2026): Single-Day ticket (date-specific) from $51.99 online, against $114.99 at the gate. The Any Day ticket is $69.99. A Single-Day ticket with All-Day Dining starts at $86.99. The 2-Day 2-Park ticket (pick from SeaWorld, Aquatica, Busch Gardens and Adventure Island) is $106, the 3-Day 3-Park ticket $135, and the 4-Park Unlimited ticket with free parking $249.99. The Aquatica Fun Card is $114.99, or $184.99 for SeaWorld plus Aquatica, and 2027 Fun Cards are on sale now.
- Parking: reported from $35 per car and $38 for preferred spaces; prices change with the season.
- Skip the line: Quick Queue Unlimited starts at $29 per guest on select dates and covers Reef Plunge, Riptide Race, Whanau Way, Omaka Rocka, Taumata Racer, Ihu’s Breakaway Falls, Tassie’s Underwater Twist and KareKare Curl.
- Towels: rental for a “nominal fee,” so bring your own. Lockers: three self-service all-day locker areas.
- Food: no outside food, drinks or coolers. The park is cashless (cards and mobile pay only; Cash-to-Card kiosks are available).
- Swimwear: no thongs. No cotton shorts or shirts, cover-ups, or buckles and rivets on body slides. Water shoes are allowed on most rides but not on Riptide Race, Omaka Rocka, Reef Plunge or Ihu’s Breakaway Falls. Swim diapers are required.
- Accessibility: paved paths, beach-entry rivers and pools, wheelchair ramps at the wave pools and Loggerhead Lane, and a transfer chair at Roa’s Rapids. Ten attractions need stair climbing.
- Heated: yes. Aquatica’s own blog says “our pools and water slides are kept at a comfortable 82° Fahrenheit all year.”
- Discounts: a free Preschool Card, military and veteran offers, and a $48.99 add-on for Florida teachers.
- Where to buy: neither GetYourGuide nor Viator listed an Aquatica Orlando ticket when we checked in October 2026, so buy on aquatica.com, where the online price is well below the gate price.
Pros: open and heated all winter; works from toddlers to teens; the dolphin slide; the cheapest online ticket. Cons: parking adds a lot to the cost; no outside food; some slides close on quiet off-season weekdays. Verdict: the default water park for a November to March trip and the best value year-round. Buy online, because the gate price is more than double.
3. Disney’s Blizzard Beach: best for Disney-bound families (open now)
Blizzard Beach is Disney’s only water park open this fall and winter. It is a “melted ski resort” with one of the tallest free-fall slides around, free parking and a cooler-friendly policy, which makes it the cheapest Disney day out.
Signature slides and heights (official Disney listing)
| Attraction | Min. height | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Summit Plummet | 48" | Speed slide off “Mount Gushmore” |
| Downhill Double Dipper | 48" | Side-by-side racing tubes |
| Slush Gusher | 48" | Closed for refurbishment, no reopening date |
| Toboggan Racers / Snow Stormers / Runoff Rapids | Any height | Mat racer, flumes, tube runs |
| Teamboat Springs | Any height | Family raft |
| Chairlift | 32" | Ski lift up the mountain |
| Tike’s Peak | 48" or shorter only | Toddler area |
| Ski Patrol Training Camp | Any height | Pre-teen area |
| Melt-Away Bay / Cross Country Creek | Any height | Heated 1-acre wave pool / lazy river |
- Tickets: the 1-Day Water Park Ticket is reported at $74 per adult and $68 per child (3 to 9), or $64 and $58 with blockout dates; confirm on Disney’s site for your date. The Walt Disney World Orlando Water Park Tickets on Viator start at $68 and are rated 4.1/5 from 71 reviews, with standard and blockout-date options. The Disney Water Park Seasonal Pass is $89 plus tax and is valid through May 15, 2027, with blockouts that include February 19 to 21 and March 20 to 28, 2027, so it pays for itself on your second visit.
- With a theme park ticket? Standard Disney tickets don’t include water parks. You need the Water Park and Sports option (one theme park per day plus one water park, golf or ESPN admission per ticket day) or Park Hopper Plus. Annual Passholders can add Water Park and Sports for $109.
- Free with your hotel? Only in summer. Disney resort guests got free water park admission on their check-in day from May 26 to September 8, 2026, and Disney has said the perk returns in summer 2027 (dates not announced).
- Parking: free (standard, first-come). Free buses run from Disney resort hotels.
- Included: free life jackets, free towels and free lazy-river tubes. Lockers are $10 standard or $15 large per day.
- Premium seating: Lodge Umbrellas $49 to $109 per day (up to 4 guests). Standard Polar Patios $225 to $425 per day. Premium Plus Polar Patios $350 to $525 per day.
- Food: coolers are allowed after a bag check. No glass, alcohol or loose or dry ice; use reusable ice packs.
- Dress code: no buckles, rivets or zippers on attractions. No denim or wetsuits on Summit Plummet and Slush Gusher. Swim diapers are required.
- Heated: yes, to about 81°F, except the deliberately chilly ice-cave stretch of Cross Country Creek.
- Cold-day closures: Blizzard Beach does close on cold days. In January 2025, for example, it closed on January 4 and 9 when temperatures dipped into the 40s. Full-day closures appear on Disney’s calendar at least a day ahead.
Our Orlando theme park tickets guide explains when the Water Park and Sports option beats a separate water park ticket.
Pros: free parking; coolers allowed; huge drop slides; a good toddler area. Cons: Slush Gusher is closed; the mountain means lots of stairs (the chairlift helps); it closes on cold snaps. Verdict: the smart choice if you’re staying at Disney or have a Water Park and Sports ticket, and a close second to Aquatica this winter.
4. Disney’s Typhoon Lagoon: best wave pool (closed until about spring 2027)
Typhoon Lagoon has been closed for seasonal refurbishment since September 9, 2026, and Disney hasn’t announced a reopening date; spring 2027 is widely expected. When it is open, its surf pool is one of the best wave pools anywhere, and Miss Adventure Falls and Crush ’n’ Gusher make it the gentler, more toddler-friendly of Disney’s two water parks. It uses the same Disney water park tickets, free parking and cooler policy as Blizzard Beach.
Watch for: Disney says at least one water park is open every day. In past years, when one park reopened, the other closed for its own refurbishment. When Typhoon Lagoon comes back, Blizzard Beach may close, so check the calendar before you buy.
5. LEGOLAND Florida Water Park: best for LEGO kids 2 to 12 (closing November 1)
LEGOLAND Water Park is a small, kid-scaled add-on inside LEGOLAND Florida in Winter Haven, about 45 minutes from Orlando, and it closes for the 2026 season after Sunday, November 1. It is open weekends only until then. In 2026 it reopened on February 14 and ran daily from May 23 to August 30. You can’t buy it alone: you need a same-day theme park and water park ticket, and LEGOLAND’s 2026 combo tickets include same-day entry to SEA LIFE Florida. Highlights are a wave pool, a build-a-raft lazy river and the DUPLO Splash Safari toddler zone. On GetYourGuide, the water park is an option on the LEGOLAND Florida Resort + SEA LIFE Florida 1-Day Admission, from $74 and rated 4.3/5 from 92 reviews; choose the water park option only for dates when it is open.
Verdict: a good cool-down during a LEGOLAND day in warm months, and not worth the drive on its own. Our LEGOLAND Florida guide covers tickets and rides, and the Peppa Pig Theme Park Florida guide covers the splash pad next door.
6. Island H2O Water Park (Kissimmee): cheapest, seasonal
Island H2O is the budget water park near Disney, but it is seasonal and its 2026 season runs to October 31. It sits at Sunset Walk next to Margaritaville Resort Orlando (3230 Inspiration Drive, Kissimmee). The park has a social-media theme, more than 20 rides and attractions, a wave pool and a lazy river, and it placed No. 6 (2021) and No. 4 (2023) in USA TODAY 10Best Readers’ Choice for best outdoor water parks; the “Top 3” claim on its site is its own.
- Price: Any Day ticket $39.50, with an online flash sale at $19.99. Online prices aren’t honored at the gate, and tax and fees are extra.
- Parking: $25, or $30 preferred (weekends and holidays).
- Cabanas: from $119.99 (standard) to $219.99 (suite) and $369.99 (ultimate). Admission is not included.
- Food: no outside food or drinks, except for baby, allergy or medical needs. Cashless.
- 2027: season dates not yet announced. The 2026 season ran March 6 to October 31.
Pros: the cheapest ticket; short lines; close to the US-192 vacation rentals. Cons: smaller and less polished than the big four; mixed reviews; closed from November to early March.
7. Adventure Island (Tampa): a day-trip option
Adventure Island is Busch Gardens’ 30-acre water park in Tampa, about 1.5 hours from Orlando, and it makes sense only if you’re already doing Busch Gardens. It is seasonal and usually closes from November through February, so check adventureisland.com before you plan around it. Single-day tickets run as low as $32.99, and it is included in SeaWorld’s 2- and 3-park tickets.
8. Discovery Cove: not really a water park
Discovery Cove is an all-inclusive, reservation-only day resort (snorkel lagoon, lazy river, optional dolphin swim), not a slide park. It is a splurge for families whose kids love animals: discoverycove.com lists the Day Resort package from $195 and the Signature Dolphin Swim from $225. Neither GetYourGuide nor Viator listed a Discovery Cove ticket when we checked in October 2026, so book on discoverycove.com.
Hotel water parks and resort day passes
Several Orlando resorts sell day passes to their lazy rivers and slides through ResortPass or directly. Disney resort pools are for registered guests only, and we found no day passes at Universal hotels. Good options:
- Signia by Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek: lazy river and waterslide, about $40 (13+) and $20 (kids).
- Hilton Orlando (I-Drive): 892-foot lazy river, from roughly $25 to $35.
- Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate: wave pool, 850-foot lazy river and 125-foot corkscrew slide; free self-parking with a pass.
- The Grove Resort & Water Park (Winter Garden): Surfari Water Park day passes sold direct (around $40 on a sample date).
- JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes: from $89 per person or $275 for a family pass.
- Holiday Inn Resort Orlando Suites Waterpark and CoCo Key: kid-focused hotel water parks.
There’s no Great Wolf Lodge or Kalahari in Orlando; our guide to the best family hotels with a water park covers the resorts that include one with your room. Day-pass prices change by date, so check live rates before you go.
Free splash pads and toddler zones
For kids under 4, a free splash pad often beats a $70 ticket. For lakes, museum free days and Disney Springs, see more free things to do in Orlando with kids. Orlando-area favorites:
- Capehart Park: 715 Capehart Dr, East Orlando. Tot lot and splash pad.
- Barber Park: 3701 Gatlin Ave. Free.
- Downey Park: 10107 Flowers Ave. Free, with an inclusive playground.
- Dr. P. Phillips Community Park: free. One 2026 source reported it closed for repairs, so check first.
- Kit Land Nelson Park (Apopka): gated and free for individuals.
- Downtown Winter Garden, Kissimmee Lakefront Park and Reiter Park (Longwood): free.
- Fort Mellon Park (Sanford): about $2.
- Disney Springs: two free splash fountains, near Earl of Sandwich and behind the Christmas store.
Splash pad hours are seasonal (many run longest from May to August), and some close in cold weather. Inside the parks, the best toddler zones are Aquatica’s Kata’s Kookaburra Cove, Blizzard Beach’s Tike’s Peak, Volcano Bay’s Tot Tiki Reef and LEGOLAND’s DUPLO Splash Safari. Peppa Pig Theme Park also has the Muddy Puddles Splash Pad. Our things to do in Orlando with kids guide has more free and low-cost ideas.
Natural alternative: Kelly Park / Rock Springs
Kelly Park near Apopka has a 68°F spring run where families float in tubes. Entry is $5 per vehicle (since August 11, 2026), entry tickets are booked through Orange County’s ocportal.net (a reservation system reported from October 1, 2026), and capacity is limited. Rent tubes outside the park before you enter, because there’s no re-entry. No pets or alcohol.
Water park ticket prices compared
| Park | Official 1-day | Gate / standard | Multi-park or pass | Sold on GetYourGuide or Viator? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aquatica | From $51.99 (date-specific) | $114.99 | 2-Park $106; 3-Park $135; Fun Card $114.99 | No; buy on aquatica.com |
| Blizzard Beach / Typhoon Lagoon | $64 adult / $58 child (blockout; reported) | $74 / $68 (reported) | Seasonal Pass $89 plus tax; Water Park and Sports; Park Hopper Plus | Viator water park ticket from $68 |
| Volcano Bay | About $81 before tax (date-based) | Up to about $110 reported | Universal multi-day tickets that include Volcano Bay | No standalone ticket |
| Island H2O | $19.99 sale | $39.50 | Season pass (2027 not announced) | No |
| LEGOLAND Water Park | Combo with the theme park only | n/a | Multi-park tickets | Water park option on the LEGOLAND 1-Day Admission, from $74 |
| Adventure Island | From $32.99 | n/a | SeaWorld multi-park, Fun Card | No |
Family-of-four reality check (2 adults, 2 kids 3 to 9): Blizzard Beach on blockout-date tickets costs about $244 with free parking, and a cooler cuts food costs. Aquatica at $51.99 online comes to about $208 plus parking (reported from $35), so about $243 before food. That’s close to a tie on cost, so choose by where you’re staying and your kids’ ages.
Cabanas and skip-the-line options
| Park | Skip the line | Shade and premium seating |
|---|---|---|
| Aquatica | Quick Queue Unlimited from $29 | Cabanas (priced by date) |
| Blizzard Beach | None | Lodge Umbrella $49 to $109; Polar Patio $225 to $425; Premium Plus $350 to $525 |
| Volcano Bay | Universal Express (paid add-on) | Premium seating about $29.99 to $139.99 or more (2025); new cabanas coming |
| Island H2O | None listed | Cabanas $119.99 to $369.99 |
When to go: water parks by season
- June to August: every park is open, with the longest hours and the biggest crowds. Afternoon thunderstorms come almost daily, and parks clear the slides for lightning (typically 30 to 45 minutes per strike window). Arrive at opening and leave or take a break around 2 to 3 p.m.
- September to October: the quietest crowds. The weather is still hot, but parks start cutting days (LEGOLAND weekends only, Island H2O to October 31).
- November to February: Aquatica and Blizzard Beach are the only major options. The water is heated to about 81 to 82°F, but the air can be in the 60s, so you’ll feel the chill out of the water. Pick sunny, still days and pack a hoodie. Cold snaps can close Blizzard Beach.
- March to April: spring-break crowds. Volcano Bay returns by April 1, 2027. Typhoon Lagoon’s reopening date hasn’t been announced, so check before Easter (March 28, 2027).
- Best time of day: at opening. Hit the headline slides first, then do the lazy river and wave pool after lunch.
What to bring to an Orlando water park
- Swimwear: no buckles, rivets or zippers. Rash guards are fine. Swim diapers are mandatory for kids still in diapers.
- Water shoes: useful on hot pavement. Aquatica bans them on four slides.
- Towels: free at Disney; bring your own to Aquatica.
- Lockers: $10 to $15 at Disney; budget about the same elsewhere. One locker per family is enough.
- Food: Disney allows coolers. Aquatica and Island H2O don’t allow outside food, and Volcano Bay’s policy wasn’t confirmed this cycle, so check universalorlando.com. At Aquatica, the All-Day Dining bundle can pay off on a full day.
- Life jackets: free at Disney; required for kids under 48 inches at Aquatica.
- Sunscreen, a waterproof phone pouch, a hat and a dry change of clothes for the drive.
- Payments: Aquatica, Island H2O and Volcano Bay are cashless.
Sample water park days
- Winter Disney day (Blizzard Beach): arrive at the 10 a.m. opening. Big kids do Summit Plummet and Downhill Double Dipper first while little ones play at Tike’s Peak. Cooler lunch at noon, a lap of Cross Country Creek, and out by 2:30 for a nap at the resort pool.
- Aquatica plus SeaWorld (2-Day 2-Park, $106): day 1 is SeaWorld. Day 2 is Aquatica: Ihu’s Breakaway Falls and Reef Plunge at opening, Ray Rush with the whole family, an All-Day Dining lunch, then the wave pool.
- Teen thrill day (from April 2027): Volcano Bay at opening, with Express on peak days. Ko’okiri first, the Krakatau Aqua Coaster second, then the serpentine slides. Finish at Universal CityWalk.
- Toddler day for $0: a morning at a county splash pad, then the evening at the Disney Springs fountains.
Which water park to pick for your dates
- Visiting November 2026 to March 2027: go to Aquatica, or Blizzard Beach if you’re staying at Disney. Don’t plan around Volcano Bay or Typhoon Lagoon.
- Visiting April to October: Volcano Bay for kids 48 inches and taller, Typhoon Lagoon or Aquatica for mixed ages, and Island H2O if budget comes first.
- Only toddlers? Skip the paid parks and use free splash pads plus your hotel pool.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best water park in Orlando?
Universal’s Volcano Bay is the best overall Orlando water park for theming and thrills, but it is closed from October 26, 2026 until on or before April 1, 2027. Until then, Aquatica Orlando is the best open water park for most families.
Which Orlando water parks are open in winter?
For winter 2026–27, Aquatica Orlando and Disney’s Blizzard Beach are the major water parks open, and both are heated. Typhoon Lagoon, Volcano Bay, Island H2O and LEGOLAND Water Park are closed for the season.
Is Volcano Bay open?
No. Volcano Bay closed for maintenance on October 26, 2026, and Universal says it reopens “on or before April 1, 2027.”
Is Typhoon Lagoon open?
No. Typhoon Lagoon has been closed for seasonal refurbishment since September 9, 2026, with no official reopening date; spring 2027 is expected.
How much are Orlando water park tickets?
Expect about $52 to $110 per person for a day ticket: Aquatica from $51.99 online, Disney reported at $64 to $74 for adults, and Volcano Bay from about $81 before tax. Island H2O is cheaper ($19.99 to $39.50) but seasonal.
What is the cheapest water park in Orlando?
Island H2O in Kissimmee has the cheapest ticket ($19.99 online sale, $39.50 regular) but is closed until its 2027 season. Among the parks open year-round, Aquatica has the lowest online price, while Disney’s free parking and cooler policy make Blizzard Beach the cheapest total day.
What is the best water park for toddlers in Orlando?
Aquatica Orlando, for its large Kata’s Kookaburra Cove with no height requirements, plus Typhoon Lagoon when it is open. For under-3s, free splash pads are often the better value.
What is the best Orlando water park for teens?
Volcano Bay from April 2027, for Ko’okiri Body Plunge’s 125-foot trapdoor drop and the Krakatau Aqua Coaster. This winter, Blizzard Beach’s Summit Plummet and Aquatica’s Ihu’s Breakaway Falls are the top thrills.
Are Disney water parks heated?
Yes. Disney’s official FAQ says the pools and water areas are “heated to approximately 81 degrees Fahrenheit,” but the parks still close on cold days.
Can you bring food into Orlando water parks?
At Disney’s water parks, yes: coolers are allowed after inspection, with no glass, alcohol or loose ice. Aquatica and Island H2O don’t allow outside food or drinks, except for medical, allergy or baby needs at Island H2O.
Is Wet ’n Wild Orlando still open?
No. Wet ’n Wild closed permanently on December 31, 2016. Universal’s Volcano Bay opened in 2017, and the old Wet ’n Wild site is now Universal’s Endless Summer Resort.
How long do you need at a water park?
Plan 5 to 7 hours for Volcano Bay or Aquatica and 4 to 6 hours for Disney’s parks. A half day works well at Blizzard Beach or with toddlers.
Do you need a separate ticket for Disney water parks if you have a park ticket?
Yes. Standard Disney theme park tickets don’t include water parks. Add the Water Park and Sports option or Park Hopper Plus, or buy a 1-Day Water Park Ticket (reported at $64 to $74 per adult).
Is parking free at Orlando water parks?
Only at Disney’s water parks. Aquatica parking is reported from $35, Island H2O charges $25, and Universal and LEGOLAND charge for parking.
Plan One Great Day Beyond the Parks
Pick the outing that suits your youngest traveler, check live dates, and keep the rest of the trip for the theme parks.
Check Availability & Book